7 Best Holiday Red Lipsticks 2014

It all started when @caroleinne tagged me to do a #redlipstickweek on Instagram. Basically, just choose and post 7 best red lipsticks that we have. Because it was done in December 2014, I thought it’s quite appropriate to have a holiday theme in mind.

This post will be a recap of all the 7 lipsticks that I chose. I am aware it’s probably counter-productive; it’s been more than 2 months ago since I did the tag. But, hopefully this post will help people who are looking for some good reds for their lips.

best-holiday-red-lipsticks-review-swatch-photos-1

Please keep in mind that it is NOT an easy task to choose these. I prefer not to do “which one is the fairest of them all” on my lipsticks, simply because if I decided to make a review of them, that means I like them in their own ways.

Although the title is “holiday”, there’s no necessary correlation between my picks and why they suit the occasion. It’s just a ruse so that I can use my other reds for other tags *HA!*

Of course, there are certain favorites that I would pick in a heartbeat, which you will see in just a bit :D Also, please refer to the link provided for the complete review of each lipstick.

best-holiday-red-lipsticks-review-swatch-photos-2

1. Tom Ford Lip Color Diabolique – hands down, this is probably the best of them all. I knew the moment I saw it on Dizzy Makeup blog, I HAVE to have it. It is limited edition, which is why I reserve it for special occasions only. Even so, I think I must sift through “special occasions” more and make the strictest, highest priority before I decide to wear this again.

2. Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick Scarlett – the semi matte finish with the deep cranberry tone in the midst of blueness of the red makes this lipstick has its own special place in my collection. I like it best when worn with blue outfits.

3. SUQQU Creamy Glow Karakurenai – this is one very intimidating, slaying classic red. The incredibly creamy, buttery formula with intense pigment is best applied when I’m not in a hurry. One slip and I’m screwed. So yes, a fidgety hand might need a lip brush as a helper.

4. AERIN Lipstick Red Velvet – this came as a huge surprise because I was taken aback by how amazingly pigmented and saturated this is. The deep berry red (actually darkest of all 7) looks sophisticated and perfect for a night out. It stains the lips beautifully too.

5. Burberry Lip Velvet Military Red – this formula is TDF! It glides on so beautifully on the lips with solid red pigment, leaving a velvety matte finish. It stands through greasy meals! It may be broken now, but I’m glad to say that I can apply this with a lip brush with no trouble.

6. ADDICTION Lipstick Monroe Walk – it’s not the most pigmented lipstick at one-go, but layering it 2-3 times will get me that full color that will stay for long hours. The cherry coolness and the vividness are something that I always enjoy whenever I take this out.

7. Kate Spade Supercalifraglipstick Fanciful Merlot – the mouthful lipstick with a gorgeous, lush formula and a high shine finish without compromising on the pigmentation has gotten me addicted to it. It’s even better that it’s long-wearing too. This is probably one of my best finds yet.

Time for some swatches. All three photos have the same order. Please do click on them to get a more detailed view.

best-holiday-red-lipsticks-review-swatch-photos-3L-R: Tom Ford Diabolique, Dolce & Gabbana Scarlett, SUQQU Karakurenai, AERIN Red Velvet, Burberry Military Red, ADDICTION Monroe Walk, Kate Spade Fanciful Merlot

best-holiday-red-lipsticks-review-swatch-photos-4

best-holiday-red-lipsticks-review-swatch-photos-5

And that’s a wrap!

 

P.S. I ended up with 7 stains on my arm if anyone’s wondering :)

Any Thoughts or Comments?